Skip to main content

Renaming a shared folder

If you’ve already shared a folder with your team members or colleagues, you can rename it in Dropbox without causing confusion.

What's in a name?

When you rename a shared folder, it will only change for you. That way, if you receive a shared folder invite for “Sales,” but already have two other folders labeled Sales, you can change it to “Midwestern Sales” without causing confusion for anyone else. But, if you change a subfolder, that folder’s name change will reflect for everyone else.

renaming-a-shared-folder_whats-in-a-name_image

Work in a way that makes sense to you

If you rename or move a shared folder, the folder remains shared; however, these changes don't occur in the Dropbox accounts of other shared folder members.

Why not?

We all work differently and have different ways of organizing our files and folders. If your coworker keeps their stuff messy or disorganized, that doesn’t mean your work has to be the same. You can rename your shared folders so you can work in a way that makes sense to you. Understanding this before sharing content will help avoid confusion and let you and your coworkers work the way everyone wants!

But if you need to rename a shared folder for everyone check out the following tutorial.

renaming-a-shared-folder_carousel-1-slide-1

Unshare the folder

To rename a shared folder for all members, the first step is unsharing that folder.