How do I manage company data and content?

Dropbox makes it easy to keep track of all your company’s data and content. It’s designed to grant access to admins, while providing companies with the security they need.

15 minute read

Activity everywhere

Dropbox team accounts are a great way to share and collaborate with all your coworkers, but all that activity means a lot of movement for your content.

Team spaces and team folders

Looking for a great way to manage company-owned data? Want to organize content by department or function? Managed team spaces are the way to go!

What are team spaces?

With Dropbox team accounts, your team shares a team space that functions like a shared drive for the whole team. Everyone on your team can access the team space, and everyone sees the same folder structure. This structure gives everyone the same context and helps the team stay organized without “shared folder overload.“

A little structure goes a long way

It’s easy to create a team folder and organize your team spaces. Want to know how? Read on to learn more about team spaces and team folders.

Team spaces

Your Dropbox is organized as a shared team space, Everyone on your team can see the same folder structure in that space, but everyone on your team can customize access, too. If you can edit a folder in the team space, that means you can add or remove users from it as well.

Team folders

As an admin, you can organize the folder structure in the team space.

To create a top-level folder in the team space:

  1. Open your admin console.

  2. Under Products, click the dropdown to the left of Dropbox.

  3. Click Content.

  4. Click Create team folder.

From there, you can choose if you want everyone on your team to have access to this folder or only specific members. Certain types of admins can also manage membership of any shared content from the content manager too.

Admins can also use the Content page to manage storage settings for top-level team folders.

To set a storage limit for a top-level team folder:

  1. Log in to dropbox.com with your admin credentials.

  2. Click Admin console in the left sidebar.

  3. Under Products, open the dropdown next to Dropbox.

  4. Click Content.

  5. Hover over the folder you want to manage and select More options.

  6. Select Manage storage limit.

  7. Turn on Set a storage limit.

  8. Enter the storage limit in GB.

  9. Click Save.

Log in as one of your team members

Looking for another way to manage company data? You can take a look into other accounts if you log in as a member. When you use this feature, you can take any action that users can take in their own account.

It can help when you need to onboard or help set up a new team member, troubleshoot problems, or even keep projects moving if a team member is away.

Monitor Dropbox team activity

The Activity page in your admin console lets you monitor user activity. You can track how data is shared both within and outside your organization from this view.

Dropbox team accounts record all sharing actions, which enables you to see:

  • Who creates shared folders or shared links

  • Who’s joining shared folders

  • Changes made to those folders,

  • Changes in shared link permissions

  • Who’s sharing Paper docs

If you’d like to see more a detailed activity on your team, you can also view team sharing activity.

Need more details? Dropbox team accounts allow you to integrate third-party apps for more comprehensive tracking, like security information and event management software.

Watch our videos on how to manage your data

Take a look at these tutorials to learn more about ways you can manage data.

Creating a team folder

Team folders are a great way to manage team content, and setting those up is easy.

Manage content in the team space

In a Dropbox team account, admins can use the Content page to view, audit, create, and manage access to files and folders in the team space. Depending on their admin role, they can also manage storage settings, including storage limits for top-level team folders.

Admins can also export folder-level reports from the Content page, including a team folders report and shared folders report, to review storage, sharing, and access patterns in more detail.

Reviewing your team’s activity

If you need to monitor a specific action or user, creating an activity report can help you stay on top of what’s happening with your team’s data.

Common questions

Got a question about keeping track of data? We’ve likely got an answer. If you have a question that’s not listed here, check our help center for more answers.

What’s the difference between a team folder and a shared folder?

Shared folders are user-managed folders and can be shared with someone outside your team, if your admin allows it. In the team space, you have team folders that can be shared with different people, including team members and people not on your team.

How do I delete or archive a team folder?

Only admins can archive team folders. To do so:

  1. Open your admin console.

  2. Under Products, click the dropdown to the left of Dropbox.

  3. Click Content.

  4. Find the folder you’d like to archive, click ⋯ (more options), and select Archive from the menu.

Is there a limit to how many collaborators can access a team folder?

There is, and it’s in place to make sure folders still sync properly. If you do reach the limit, you can remove members or reorganize your team folders to help resolve the issue.

Review shared folder user activity

Keep an eye on what happens inside of shared folders.

Dropbox | Admin | Analytics | Start at your home base

Start at your home base

Since this is an admin action, start at the admin console. From there, click Activity, you'll see a form at the top of the screen.