How do I control my team’s access to Dropbox?
No matter how big your team is, as a Dropbox business admin you have plenty of options for managing Dropbox access.
10 minute read
Managing made easy
Whether you’re adding or removing members of your team, Dropbox team accounts make user management easy.
Managing members vs. groups
If you have a big team, creating custom groups is a great way to organize your team members. From the admin console, you can manage permissions to ensure only the right people have access to the right files, both at the individual and group level.
Suspend user and remote wipe
There are two ways to remove a user’s access to your Dropbox team, and methods are accessible through the admin console.
Suspend users
Suspending a user means that they instantly lose access to their Dropbox team account and Paper docs. Only an admin can remove the suspension.
Suspending an account doesn’t free up a license, or delete any files. The account still exists, which means it’s still using that license. To free up the license, you’ll need to delete the account.
Remote wipe
Remote wipe lets you delete a Dropbox team account from a team member’s linked devices. With this feature, you can delete data from a device even if your team member loses it.
Once you unlink a device and use remote wipe, that device will immediately stop syncing.
Restore deleted
Did you accidentally remove a team member? Didn’t mean to delete someone? No problem!
Dropbox team admins have seven days to restore any deleted users.
Restoring a member reactivates the account with the same files and permissions, so the account is exactly as it was before deletion.
It’s like nothing even happened.
Note: Team admins and user management admins can restore deleted users.