Advanced features of the admin console
If you and your team are new to Dropbox business or just want to learn some tips and tricks to make your job easier, enabling advanced features in the admin console can help you deploy Dropbox successfully for businesses of all sizes.
10 minute read
How to view and add licenses for your Dropbox team
As an admin of a Dropbox team account, you can view the available storage space for your team:
Log in to dropbox.com with your admin credentials.
Click Admin console.
Click Dashboard.
You can also view the number of available licenses, and buy more if needed.
If your team is nearing its storage limit, please contact Dropbox support—we may be able to increase your storage space limit. To contact support, click More, then Help in the admin console.
Learn how to manage licenses and storage space on Dropbox team accounts.
How to make onboarding faster and easier
Dropbox team accounts offer domain verification and invite enforcement to make the process of onboarding faster and easier for large businesses.
Note: Domain verification and invite enforcement are available to Dropbox teams on an Advanced or Enterprise plan.
What is domain verification?
Domain verification allows a team admin to verify ownership of an email domain with Dropbox.
This means you can easily claim ownership of your organization’s email domains, and unlock the other domain management tools.
After domain verification is completed, invite enforcement can be enabled.
How does invite enforcement work?
Some invited users may have already created a Dropbox or Paper account with an email on the verified domain. Invite enforcement requires these users to select from one of two options:
Join the team with their existing account.
Change the email address associated with this account to a new personal email address.
Learn more about domain verification and invite enforcement.
How to set up Dropbox Transfer for your team
Dropbox Transfer lets your team easily send large files for final delivery.
Any changes made to a file or folder after it’s transferred won’t be reflected to the recipient. This is a great option for final delivery or snapshots of a file at a specific moment in time.
In addition to sending individual files, team members can:
Include multiple files and folders in a single transfer
Customize transfer logos, expiration dates, and passwords
Monitor download activity for transfers they create
Recipients don’t need a Dropbox account to receive transferred files, making Dropbox Transfer a simple way to securely send proposals, contracts, and finished work.
Team admins can manage transfer settings for the team and monitor transfer activity in the admin console.
How to manage file transfer settings
Log in to dropbox.com with your admin credentials.
Click Admin console in the left sidebar.
Click Settings.
Click Sharing.
Next to Sharing files using Dropbox Transfer, toggle to On or Off.
Note: Existing transfer links will no longer be accessible after disabling transfers.
How to ensure team members can automatically back up key folders
Dropbox backup lets team members automatically back up certain key folders on their computers.
Folders like Desktop, Documents, and Downloads remain accessible from the same place on each computer, while also being backed up in Dropbox.
Certain types of admins can manage Dropbox Backup for their team, including turning features on or off and viewing their team’s backup activity.
How to manage computer backup settings
Log in to dropbox.com with your admin credentials.
Click Admin Console.
Click Settings.
Click Backups.
Under Allow your team to enable computer backup, toggle to On or Off.
Note: It may take up to an hour for the change to take effect.
How to manage and limit the number of approved devices
With a large team, you need a way to keep track of the computers, phones, and tablets your team members use to access Dropbox.
Device approvals let you set a limit on the number of mobile devices or computers that team members can connect to their Dropbox team account. Limiting device approvals helps keep your team secure.
Note: Device approvals are available to Dropbox teams on an Advanced or Enterprise plan.
How to add your organization’s branding to shared files
You can use branded sharing to add your organization’s name and logo to files and folders shared outside your team. When members of your team send shared links or direct sharing invitations, recipients will see the branding elements you’ve added to your account settings.
Admins on Dropbox Advanced and Enterprise plans can set branding elements for the whole team, or allow team members to customize branded sharing settings on their own files and folders.
Learn how to add custom branding to shared links.
Continue learning about the admin console with a live instructor, and join the Dropbox Community to share resources with others.
How to set up branded sharing for your team
Log in to dropbox.com with your admin credentials.
Click Admin console in the left sidebar.
Click Settings.
Click Team Profile and scroll to Branded sharing.
Click Add logo next to Company logo to upload your organization’s logo.
Click Choose image next to Background image. The image you upload will appear on the splash screen that appears when a recipient opens a link to your shared files.
Changing branded sharing settings for your team
Log in to dropbox.com with your admin credentials.
Click Admin console in the left sidebar.
Click Settings.
Click Team Profile and scroll to Branded sharing.
Toggle Members can set their own branding to Off or On. Team members can manage branded sharing in their account settings.
Notes: Only admins on Dropbox Advanced and Enterprise plans can allow team members to customize branded sharing settings.
If admins allow team members to customize branding and team members don’t add a logo or background image in their own settings, no branding will be shown on their shared links.