How can Dropbox help my team work together?
Dropbox Business isn’t just for keeping your stuff organized. It makes collaborating easy, so your team can stay focused on the work that really matters.
Now that you’re using Dropbox Business, you have the tools you need to make collaboration easy, productive, and enjoyable.
Keep everyone on the same page
Dropbox Business makes it easy to work with your team, whether with co-workers or clients, on all kinds of stuff.
Types of sharing
Shared files or folders:
Depending on the permissions you set, the people you invite to a shared file or folder may be able to view, edit, and comment; add or remove files (from a folder); and invite others. Shared folders are a great way to share multiple files at once.
Shared links let you share a file or folder with anyone, even non-Dropbox users. People you share a view-only link with can view, comment on, and download copies of a file or folder, but they can’t edit the original. And if you edit a file or folder, those you’ve shared with will always see the latest version.
Note that you can also use “authenticated sharing” to share sensitive documents with other Dropbox users. This means that the person you share with must have a Dropbox account, and be signed in to access the file. Additionally, the file is only available for the specific names or email addresses you’ve invited to the file.
Dropbox Business admins can also manage sharing settings to prevent documents from being viewed by unauthorized users.
Use file requests to collect files from others, even from people without a Dropbox account. They’ll be organized into a single Dropbox folder that only you and people you choose to share with can see.
There are two ways to give other people view-only access to files in your Dropbox account. If you’re sharing a file or folder with a Dropbox user and want them to have view-only access, simply select Can view from the drop-down menu when entering their email address. When you share a link with people who don't have a Dropbox account, they will only be able to view a file, comment on it, or download a copy. Want to set a password or prevent people from downloading your file? Click Settings in the sharing window.
Dropbox can automatically sync files or folders to any device you’ve signed into with your Dropbox account. This way you’ll always have the latest versions of your folders and files available.
With Dropbox, you can choose how you sync with Smart Sync, a feature that saves space on your hard drive by saving your files in the cloud, while still letting you access them from your computer.
Or you can use selective sync, a feature that lets you choose which folders you see on your computer, while storing the rest online.
Make your mark
Now that you know how to share files with others, let’s take a look at another collaborating tool: Comments. Everyone with access to a file can leave a comment for all other team members to see within Dropbox. No need for back-and-forth emails, instant messages, or downloading software. Now you can keep everything in one place in Dropbox—right next to the content itself.
That’s the spot
You can leave comments on the overall file or on specific spots within a file. Just highlight text or part of an image and the comment icon will appear.
Mistakes happen. Sometimes you accidentally delete a file or folder; sometimes, you just want to go back and see a previous edit that you made. Dropbox lets you access your file history and previous versions from the desktop and web. You can even review the file before you restore it to make sure it’s what you want. On dropbox.com, just click Deleted files in the left sidebar. From there, you can see deleted files and restore them. All better.
But nothing so good lasts forever. Previous versions of files are only available for a set period of time, depending on your account type. After this, the files are permanently deleted.
Ah, the good old days of collaboration. Remember making changes to a document only to realize you were two versions behind?
Now, there’s the Dropbox badge. With the Dropbox badge, everyone gets to keep the version they’re working on. Everyone on the team can open the document and will be notified when anyone is viewing or making changes. Without even closing your work, you can see who’s currently working in the document and any comments they make, and view past versions of the file. The badge will even let you share the doc or create a link.
Who can see comments left on a document?
Anyone can see comments in a document as long as they’ve been given access. You’ll only receive a notification of a new comment if you’re the file owner, if you were @mentioned, or if you are following the document.
Do I have to have a Dropbox account to comment?
Yes. You’ll need to be signed in and have access to a file to comment on it.
What if I don’t want everyone to edit my stuff?
That’s an easy one. By setting view-only permissions for specific files or folders, you can keep people from editing your stuff, but still let them view it.
Try it out
Would you like some more practice on making the most of our collaborative tools? Then watch these tutorials and try it out yourself.
Let's get collaborating
Interested in using Dropbox to collaborate with your team?
Create a new folder on dropbox.com.