Skip to main content

We use cookies so that Dropbox works for you. By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.Learn more

How do I get started?

Ready to set up your team’s Dropbox Business account? Get started with these steps.

Unlock easy deployment

As a Dropbox Business admin, you have a lot of responsibility, like getting your team set up. It’s easy to do with the admin console.

Get to know the admin console

The admin console is a one-stop shop for managing users, overseeing activity, and configuring team-wide settings.

how-do-i-get-started_carousel-1-slide-1

Insights

Available to all admins, the Insights dashboard allows you to gather insights on your team’s activities, access shortcuts to important functions, and quickly find members to manage their account settings.

Start with Settings

If you’ve looked around the admin console, you may have noticed that there are a lot of options to explore in the Settings page.

This section contains the bulk of what you can do as an admin, from adjusting your team account information to controlling authentication and password settings and managing devices, members, and content, just to name a few.

You can also set up early access to some of Dropbox’s newest features and configure other tools like Paper or Microsoft Office add-ins.

how-do-i-get-started_start-with-settings_image
Deployment and domain management

Now that you know where you can configure your settings, you’re ready to verify your domain and get deployment underway.

Domain verification allows a team admin to verify the ownership of an email domain with Dropbox.

Note: Domain verification is available to Dropbox Business teams on an Advanced or Enterprise plan.

how-do-i-get-started_deployment-and-domain-management_image

Keep it in the company

If you have an Advanced or Enterprise plan, combining domain verification with invite enforcement helps make adding new team members easier and faster. Wondering how?

how-do-I-get-started_keep-it-in-the-company_card-1

So the question remains: why set up invite enforcement? It helps prevent unauthorized Dropbox use on your organization's domain by requiring invited users to choose what they want to do with the data in their existing basic account.

how-do-I-get-started_keep-it-in-the-company_card-2

Enabling this feature will cause all future invites on your domain to be enforced, which means users will need to choose what they want to do with data in their existing accounts and grants admins additional control over any unmanaged users.

how-do-I-get-started_keep-it-in-the-company_card-3

If you choose to enable invite enforcement, keep in mind that it will only affect invites sent after the feature is turned on.

If an invited user is already on a personal account using your organization's domain, their account will stop syncing until they choose what to do with their data. If they choose to keep their account personal, Dropbox will make them a brand new empty work account!

how-do-I-get-started_keep-it-in-the-company_card-4

Want to configure invite enforcement? It’s easy. Visit the admin console, click Settings, and scroll down to the Members section. Then select Domains. From the verified domain you can enable invite enforcement by selecting the Invited users radio button.

Account capture

There’s another Enterprise-only feature that helps prevent unauthorized usage on your organization's domain. It’s called account capture.

Note: Account capture is available to Dropbox Business teams on an Enterprise plan.

how-do-i-get-started_carousel-2-slide-1

Work email address only

Account capture prevents unauthorized Dropbox usage on a verified domain. It requires users to join the Dropbox Business team with their company email address. Or, if they have an existing personal Dropbox account using their company email address, to choose between converting that account to a work account, or converting it to a new personal account by changing the associated email address.

Show me how

Take a look at these tutorials if you’re looking for more ways to streamline getting started as an admin.

Tour the admin console

Whether you’re new to the admin console, or you just haven’t visited it in a long time, it’s always helpful to get a tour. No matter the size of your team, you’ll find plenty of tools here to make your life easier.

Click play to take the tour.

Verifying your domain

Want to know how to verify your company’s domain?

Click play to learn more.

Configuring early access

Want to give your team access to Dropbox’s newest features before they’re rolled out for everyone else?

Click play to learn more.

Common Questions

Have a question about setting up your team’s new Dropbox account? We’ve likely got an answer. If you have a question that’s not listed here, check out help.dropbox.com for more answers.

I’ve got more people joining my team. How do I add more licenses to my Dropbox Business account?

Adding additional licenses is easy! Visit the admin console and select the Billing tab. Then click Manage plan and Manage licenses. Change the number of licenses (you’ll see a price displayed as well), and then select Add licenses.

As an admin, can anyone see my files?

No, not unless you have another team admin on your account. By default, everything in your Dropbox Business account is private, just like it is for other users. However, other team admins can sign in as you and see your Dropbox Business files.

How can I quickly find team members as an admin?

You can easily find team members on the Members page of the admin console. Browse through the list of names or type a name in the search box at the top of the page.

Try it out

Want to see the steps to take to get started as an admin? Look through the following tutorial, and follow along with your own Dropbox Business account.

Configure your admin console

Try out these actions when you set up your own admin console. Each one starts in the Settings tab.

how-do-i-get-started_carousel-3-slide-1

Keep users from sharing outside the team

First, if you want to make sure your users can’t share stuff with people outside of your team, go to the Settings page and scroll down to Content. Then, select Sharing.