Skip to main content

We use cookies so that Dropbox works for you. By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.Learn more

Renaming a shared folder

Renaming a shared folder

If you’ve already shared a folder with others, it’s possible to rename it in Dropbox without causing confusion.

What's in a name?

When you rename a shared folder, it will only change for you. That way, if you receive a shared folder invite for “Sales,” but already have two other folders labeled Sales, you can change it to “Midwestern Sales” without causing confusion for anyone else. But, if you change a subfolder, that folder’s name change will reflect for everyone else.

renaming-a-shared-folder_whats-in-a-name_image

Work in a way that makes sense to you

If you rename or move a shared folder, the folder remains shared. However, these changes don't occur in the Dropbox accounts of other shared folder members.

Why not?

We all work differently and have different ways of organizing our files and folders. If the people you share with keep their stuff messy or disorganized, that doesn’t mean your folders have to be the same. You can move and rename your shared folders so you can work in a way that makes sense to you. Understanding this before sharing content will help avoid confusion and let everyone work the way they want!

But if you need to rename a shared folder for everyone, check out the following tutorial.

renaming-a-shared-folder_carousel-1-slide-1

Unshare the folder

To rename a shared folder for all members, the first step is unsharing that folder.