Skip to main content
Capturing screenshots

Capturing screenshots

If you find yourself taking a lot of screenshots on your computer, you’ll notice they tend to pile up and clog your desktop background. Did you know that you can use Dropbox to save and share them instantly?

What’s so great about capturing screenshots through Dropbox?

We’re glad you asked. With Dropbox, capturing, saving, and sharing screenshots has never been simpler.

capturing-screenshots_whats-so-great_card-1

Better organization

Save all of your screenshots in one place on Dropbox. This makes finding them much easier when you know you have a designated place to store them.

capturing-screenshots_whats-so-great_card-2

One application

You can easily share your screenshots without opening another application or sending multiple emails that may get lost in a junk folder. Now you only need to use your Dropbox account to capture and share screenshots.

capturing-screenshots_whats-so-great_card-3

Customizable

Not interested in storing your screenshots? No problem. You can always turn this feature off in the Dropbox app preferences.

Sharing and saving screenshots on a Mac

The first time you capture a screenshot, Dropbox will ask if you want to save it to your account. Select Save screenshots to Dropbox.

From now on, whenever you take a screenshot, the application will automatically save it to a folder named “Screenshots” in your Dropbox folder. It will also copy a link to the screenshot on your computer’s clipboard, which you can immediately share in an email or other message. Anyone who clicks on the link will see your screenshot on a preview page on the Dropbox website.

capturing-screenshots_sharing-and-saving-screenshots-on-a-mac_image
Sharing and saving screenshots on Windows

Once you take a screenshot, press Print Screen to save the screenshot to your Dropbox. Then press Ctrl + Print Screen to copy and save a link to the screenshot on your computer’s clipboard, which you can immediately share in an email or other message. Anyone who clicks on the link will see your screenshot on a preview page on the Dropbox website.

capturing-screenshots_sharing-and-saving-screenshots-on-windows

Keep it separate

If you've linked your personal and work Dropbox accounts, you can also choose which account you want to save screenshots to.

To change this setting, click the Dropbox icon in your computer’s taskbar (Windows) or menu bar (Mac). Next, click your avatar, then click Preferences and Backups.